Setting or changing your password
If you did not set a password when you created your Groups.io account and later decide to set one, or if you want to change an existing password:
- Display your account settings page and select Login (if that page is not displayed already).
- In the Login panel at the top of the page, in the New Password field, enter your new password. It must be at least 6 characters long.
- Click or tap Set Password (if you are setting a password for your account) or Change Password (if you are changing an existing password).
Tip: The main advantage of setting a password for your Groups.io account is so you do not have to deal with your login expiring in 30 days (see Logging in to your account > Through an email link (password not required) ).
Deleting your password
If you have a Groups.io password and later decide you no longer want to use a password to log in to Groups.io, you can delete your password:
- Display your account settings page and select Login (if that page is not displayed already).
- In the Login panel at the top of the page, under the New Password field, click or tap Delete Password.
Groups.io deletes the password and displays a banner at the top of the page stating that your password has been deleted.
Note: It is not possible to delete your password if two-factor authentication (2FA) is enabled in your Groups.io account.
Related help topics
More Options
More
Introduction to Groups.io for group owners
Creating a group
Promoting your group
Group aliases
Renaming a group
Customizing group settings
Setting membership defaults
Changing the group's cover photo and icon
Managing group and member notices
Managing members
Managing owners and moderators
Managing topics and messages
Managing hashtags
Activity log
Analytics dashboard
Notifications about group activity
Storage space
Integrations
Subgroups
Donations and sponsorships
Sticking topics and wiki pages to the top of the Topics page
Locking and unlocking groups and subgroups
Banning or unbanning domains
GitHub support in Groups.io
Upgrading or downgrading groups
Groups.io billing
Exporting or downloading your group’s data
Deleting a group or subgroup
Enterprise group features
Terms